Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

This review is of an uncorrected galley proof from NetGalley.
I loved Code Name Verity so much that I was excited to see that this book was a (sort of) sequel. The subject matter was even more disturbing than Verity (if possible), but all the more so because every part of it Could Have Happened, indeed probably Did Happen to many people. It broke my heart, but the story is presented in such a well written way that I had to keep reading. I can’t wait to have a paper copy to actually re-read and mark up with my thoughts and comments. (I find the Kindle just isn’t what this book-lover prefers, though it does offer the ability to read ARCs, etc!!) I only hope the end section is tightened up a little, it seems to drift a bit after the intensity of the earlier parts.
I think I would read Anything Elizabeth Wein writes because she has a way of bringing the reader right into the story and being a (vicarious) part of it.
I would recommend this to Everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

